Dublin Mayor Chris Amorose Groomes Named to FCC Intergovernmental Advisory Committee

(Dublin, Ohio) — Federal Communications Commission Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel announced Dublin Mayor Chris Amorose Groomes will serve on the newly reauthorized Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (IAC). This advisory panel, composed of officials of municipal, county, state and Tribal governments, provides guidance, expertise and recommendations to the FCC on telecommunications issues, including those related to increasing deployment and adoption of broadband services.

“These local, county, state and Tribal leaders offer the commission valuable perspectives on how we can work together to connect the American people,” said Chairwoman Rosenworcel. “I thank the committee members for their willingness to serve, and I look forward to their input.”

Mayor Amorose Groomes said serving on the FCC’s Intergovernmental Advisory Committee will complement the City of Dublin’s goal of becoming the most connected community in the U.S.

“As we advance initiatives such as Dublin’s broadband-to-the-home project, I’ll be able to seek input from other members of the committee and share our experiences with members seeking to deploy broadband in their communities,” she said.

As a member of the National League of Cities Information Technology and Communications Federal Advocacy Committee, Mayor Amorose Groomes has been a strong advocate to support Congress’ passage of legislation giving municipalities the right to build, maintain and lease municipal fiber.

The mayor’s appointment also aligns with Dublin’s role as home to the Global Institute for the Study of the Intelligent Community and as a partner in The Beta District, which seeks to make our nation’s highways safer and more efficient, thanks in large part to an FCC license allowing the testing of connected vehicles and smart mobility.

In her announcement, Rosenworcel also named Michigan Lieutenant Governor Garlin Gilchrist II as chair and CEO Marshall Pierite of the Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana as vice-chair of the committee.

The FCC announced the reauthorization of the IAC Feb. 7, 2023, and sought nominations for membership. The committee will operate for two years with an option for the commission to reauthorize it at the end of the two-year period. The committee is comprised of 30 members with a minimum of four elected municipal officials, two elected county officials, one elected or appointed local government attorney, one elected state executive, three elected state legislators, one elected or appointed public utilities or public service commissioner, and three elected or appointed Tribal representatives.

The first IAC meeting will take place April 18. The newly appointed IAC members are:

State Executive Representatives (3)

  • Roy Cooper, Governor, North Carolina
  • Henry McMaster, Governor, South Carolina
  • Garlin Gilchrist II, Lieutenant Governor, Michigan

Municipal Representatives (8)

  • Tim Rosener, Mayor, Sherwood, Oregon
  • Joseph Goldstein, Marietta City Council Member, Marietta, Georgia
  • Chris Amorose Groomes, Mayor, Dublin, Ohio
  • Susan Farber, City Council Representative, Dubuque, Iowa
  • Dr. Alix Desulme, Mayor, City of North Miami, Florida
  • Erik Sickinger, Town Council Member, Irmo, South Carolina
  • Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Town Council Member, San Antonio, Texas
  • Ted Wheeler, Mayor, Seattle, Washington

County Representatives (7)

  • Dr. Jonathan Todd Finnell, Superintendent of Schools, Imperial County, California
  • Gregg Weiss, Commissioner, Palm Beach County, Florida
  • Tarryl Clark, Commissioner, Stearns County, Minnesota
  • Alan Perdue, Commissioner, Guilford County, North Carolina
  • Joanna Mackenzie, County Judge, Hudspeth County, Texas
  • J.D. Clark, County Judge, Wise County, Texas
  • Terry Cook, Commissioner, Williamson County, Texas

City Attorney Representative (1)

  • Victor Gordo, Mayor, Pasadena, California

State Legislative Representatives (4)

  • Cindy Ryu, State Representative, Washington
  • Louis Riggs, State Representative, Missouri
  • Matt Pierce, State Representative, Indiana
  • Angelo J. Puppolo, State Representative, Massachusetts

State Public Utility Commission Representatives (3)

  • Tony Evers, Governor, Wisconsin
  • Dan Watermeier, Chair, Nebraska Public Service Commission
  • Muriel Bowser, Mayor, Washington, D.C.

Tribal Representatives (4)

  • Paul Russell, Vice President, Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation, Arizona
  • Jarred-Michael Erickson, Chairperson, Colville Business Council, Confederate Tribes of the Colville Reservation, Washington
  • Richard Peterson, President, Central Council of the Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska
  • Marshall Pierite, Chairman and CEO of the Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana

About the City of Dublin, Ohio, USA
Dublin is a city of nearly 50,000 residents located just northwest of Columbus, Ohio. It offers residents and corporate citizens responsive services, attractive housing, superior public education, direct regional highway access, abundant park space, thoughtful and strategic planning, innovative ideas and technology and a dynamic community life. Dublin is ranked the number one small city in Ohio and is consistently ranked one of the safest cities in the nation. It is home to more than 20 corporate headquarters, an entrepreneurial center, 4,300+ businesses, world-class events and the urban, walkable Bridge Street District. For more information, visit DublinOhioUSA.gov or call 614.410.4400.


Media Contact:
Aisling Babbitt
Deputy Director of Communications & Marketing

Newsroom: https://dublinohiousa.gov/newsroom/

Latest Video

Latest Photos

Dublin, Ohio, USA

5555 Perimeter Drive
Dublin, Ohio, 43017

Mon – Fri: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Skip to content